The green monster (aka – Elphaba juice)

Okay so I was super hesitant about this – it looks like that slime from those hilarious 90s Nickelodeon shows like Double Dare. Ridiculous.

But I gave it a shot because the post said it didn’t taste like healthy goop. Good thing I’m a trusting person. And she was right! For a juice made of spinach and peanut butter and yogurt- was actually pretty dang good!!

20120729-192338.jpg

Green Monster Juice. Or Elphaba Juice.

  • 1 slides banana, frozen or not
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup (or one to go cup) Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 cups baby spinach (more or less)
  1. Blend banana and peanut butter
  2. Add yogurt and milk- blend that all together
  3. Fill the rest of your blender with baby spinach and, you guessed it, blend!!

Taste Rating: 8.5/10

Other than the green appearance, this juice tastes really good! You can’t taste the spinach, so it mostly just tastes like banana and peanut butter – although I’d add more peanut butter next time 🙂 And I expected it to be more of a smoothie consistency, so I may try adding ice or freezing my banana if I make this again. But it’s a great way to force me to eat spinach. I also have a reeeeeeeally hard time with the consistency of Greek yogurt (I know, I know. I’m so not trendy) but this was great! No weird yogurt consistency.

Ease of Cooking: 9.5/10

Seriously. It’s just a blender. Great for a quick breakfast or after workout boost. And yummy 🙂

The hardest part was washing out the blender.

Thanks to Iowa Girl Eats for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

